De Trafford Wine Spectator Scores

Exciting news!

Seven De Trafford Wines scored 90 points or more in the Wine Spectators latest report on South African wine titled “Hidden Gems: South Africa’s rich array of high quality waits to be discovered.”

The next highest were Ernie Els, Fairview, Reyneke and Rust & Vrede with five 90+ scores each. The highest scoring wine was Klein Constantia Vin de Constance 2006 with 95, followed by De Trafford Shiraz 2008 and De Trafford Straw Wine 2008 as well as Buitenverwachting’s Maximus 2009, Cape Point Isliedh 2010, 4G 2010 ($320), L’Ormarins Anthonij Rupert Cab Sauv 2007 and Reyneke Reserve White 2010 all scoring 93.

De Trafford Shiraz 2008                                   93

De Trafford Straw Wine 2008                        93

De Trafford Elevation 393 2006                   92

De Trafford Cabernet Sauvignon 2007      91

De Trafford Chenin Blanc 2009                    91

De Trafford Blueprint Shiraz 2008             91

De Trafford Merlot 2007                                90

Although most of these wines are sold out from the farm they may still be available in certain markets. Please let us know if you are interested and we can help you source them.

“David Trafford continues to set the pace with his De Trafford Shiraz 2008 (93)” – James Molesworth

It is interesting to compare the Wine Spectator scores with the Platter wine guide for the Shiraz (now Syrah 393) over the last few years:

                             Wine Spectator                           Platter

Shiraz 2005            94                                               5 stars

Shiraz 2006            93                                                4 ½ stars

Shiraz 2007           95                                                 5 stars

Shiraz 2008           93                                                 5 stars (Red wine of the year)

Syrah 393 2009    Not yet tasted                        4 ½ stars

We welcome feedback from customers – contact us on facebook, e-mail or phone.

Kind regards,

David, Rita, Heindie, Xenia, Waldo and the De Trafford team.

Comments are closed.